Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Internal Medicine

​Internal med

Resident's Talk

“"The NHG Internal Medicine Residency prepares me adequately to be a well-rounded physician. The apprenticeship culture is very strong here - residents get to run specialist clinics supervised, building our confidence in managing patients with complex iss

Dr Alfred Seng Wai Ping
IM Senior Resident

​Introduction Message

Internal Medicine is a broad-based medical specialty that positions Internists to deliver truly patient-centred, holistic care. This programme empowers the resident to deal with complex undifferentiated medical problems or patients with medical issues spanning specialties.

The NHG Internal Medicine Residency Programme is a 3-year training programme that prepares the resident for further subspecialisation. It provides the resident with the opportunity to rotate through our main site at Tan Tock Seng Hospital (TTSH), Khoo Teck Puat Hospital (KTPH), National Neuroscience Institute (NNI), National Skin Centre (NSC) and National Cancer Centre Singapore (NCC). As such, he/she will accumulate clinical experiences ranging from inpatient wards, ambulatory clinics, acute medicine training in the emergency department, to tertiary institutions in community hospitals and hospices during our night float system.

As we strive to create a balance between clinical experience and a rigorous education programme, the resident will receive regular teaching during protected time. This includes Internal Medicine Modular Teaching, Residents' Report, and the Programme Director Round. The resident can rest assured that all teaching will be done in a supportive environment that fosters evidence-based medicine and critical decision-making skills in patient care.

Although we are a large programme, each resident has a designated senior resident mentor, where regular one-on-one and team meetings take place to review learning plans as well as make action plans.

Programme Faculty