Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Internal Medicine

NHG Internal Medicine Residency Programme

Resident's Talk

”The NHG Internal Medicine Residency prepares me adequately to be a well-rounded physician. The apprenticeship culture is very strong here, building our confidence in managing patients with complex issues.“

Dr Alfred Seng Wai Ping
IM Resident

​Introduction Message

Internal Medicine is a broad-based medical specialty that positions internists to deliver truly patient-centred, holistic care. This programme empowers the resident to deal with complex undifferentiated medical problems or patients with medical issues multiple specialties.

The NHG Internal Medicine Residency Programme is a 3-year training programme that prepares the resident for further specialisation. It provides the resident with the opportunity to rotate through our main site at Tan Tock Seng Hospital (TTSH), Khoo Teck Puat Hospital (KTPH), National Neuroscience Institute (NNI), National Skin Centre (NSC) and National Cancer Centre Singapore (NCCS). As such, he/she will accumulate clinical experiences ranging from inpatient wards, ambulatory clinics, intensive care units, emergency department, to subacute care in community hospitals and hospices.

As we strive to create a balance between clinical experience and a rigorous education programme, residents will receive protected time during office hours for learning. This includes Internal Medicine Modular Teaching, Residents' Report, and the Programme Director Round. Teaching sessions are conducted in a in a supportive environment that fosters evidence-based medicine and critical decision-making skills in patient care.

Despite being a large programme, residents will have the opportunity to have regular one-on-one meeting with programme director and assistant programme directors. They will also be assigned a resident mentor, faculty mentor and also a house master, who will monitor and ensure that the resident continue to progress well during his/her training.

Programme Faculty


Programme Director

Dr Ng Wee Khoon (TTSH)

Associate Programme Director

Dr Abel Chen (TTSH)
Dr Huang Wenhui (TTSH)
Dr Lim Jun Pei (TTSH)
Dr Selene Teoh Tse Yen (KTPH)
Dr Yeo Pei Shan (TTSH)

Clinical Site Director

Dr Eileen Poon Yi Ling (NCCS)
Dr Koh Pei Xuan (NNI)
Dr Vanessa Lim Ziying (NSC)
Dr Selene Teoh Tse Yen (KTPH)

Clinical Core Faculty Member

Dr Caroline Victoria Choong (TTSH)
Dr Chia Yew Woon (TTSH)
Dr Chow Minyang (TTSH)
Dr Esther Ho Peiying (TTSH)
Dr Kalpana D/O Vijakumar (TTSH)
Dr Koh Nien Yue (TTSH)
Dr Lieu Ping Kong (TTSH)
Dr Lim Xin Rong (TTSH)
Dr Manohar Giliyar Bairy (TTSH)
Dr Mucheli Sadasiv (TTSH)
Dr Pandit Nihar Shailendra (TTSH)
Dr Poi Choo Hwee (TTSH)
Dr Puah Ser Hon (TTSH)
Dr Ranjana Acharya (TTSH)
Dr Sabrina Lau Yanting (TTSH)
Dr Sennen Lew Jin Wen (TTSH)
Dr Suresh Sahadevan (TTSH)
Dr Tan Chong Keat (TTSH)
Dr Timothy Quek Peng Lim (TTSH)
Dr Wong Chen Seong (TTSH)
Dr Yeo Chong Ming (TTSH)
Dr Cheong Chin Yee (KTPH)
Dr Ng Kah Yan (KTPH)
Dr Ramkumar Sekar (KTPH)
Dr Goh Soon Keng (WHC)
Dr Chuang Ding Fang (NNI)
Dr Kevin Tan(NNI)
Dr Koh Pei Xuan (NNI)
Dr Nigel Tan (NNI)
Dr Umapathi S/O N Thirugnanam (NNI)
Dr Yasmin Binte Idu Jion (NNI)